Bourne
United Methodist Church
Historical Timeline of Bourne United Methodist Church
Explore the significant milestones in the history of Bourne United Methodist Church, a beacon of faith and community since the late 18th century.
Early Beginnings (1794-1830s)
The first Methodist Society in Monument (now Bourne) was formed in 1794 with shoemaker John Perry as Class Leader. Its other members were his wife Jemima, Covil Burgess and his wife Lydia, John Phinney and his wife Abigail, Zaccheus Hatch and wife Ann, Christiania Burgess, Christiania Perry, Maria Nye, Anna Nye, and Phoebe Swift.
This was the result of earlier preaching on Cape Cod by Jesse Lee who was appointed here in 1791. The first preacher stationed here was Joshua Hall, who came in 1794. Although his circuit included all of Cape Cod, his preaching services at Monument were well attended.
It was a time of most intense opposition. The modern sympathy between Christians of different denominations was not in vogue. Theologically and in other respects a Methodist minister was heretical, and to ostracize him and his followers constituted an unquestioned proof of piety.
All New England except for Rhode Island had established a Puritanic Congregationalism which was supported by the laws of the state or commonwealth. To become a “freeman” of a town, a man must be 25 years old, must have family, be a landowner, and a member of the Congregational Church. The town paid the minister’s salary which was raised by a parish tax.
It happened that when John Perry joined the Methodist society, he refused to pay for the support of the Congregational minister and had his cow sold at auction to pay his parish tax. Zaccheus Hatch had his silver spoons sold for the same reason.
Building the First Meeting House (1831-1890)
At first the Methodists worshipped in private homes and in the Congregational Church, in a part not used by the owners.
The Methodist Episcopal Church in Monument built a meeting house in 1831 and when the Congregational Church was struck by lightning and destroyed in 1862, the two congregations joined in the Methodist meeting house.
In 1831, Ellis Swift bought the lumber for the first meeting house, brought it to Monument in his own vessel, paid the carpenters and carried the enterprise forward until the house was completed and dedicated. After the dedication of the building, pews were sold for enough money to pay for the building.
By 1843, on the days when there were two sermons on Sunday and one in the evening, a social luncheon was held at the church.
In 1889-1890 the church was raised and a vestry was built below and a furnace installed.
The Musical Legacy of the Swift Family (1890-1913)
All the founding families maintained generations of support for the church.
The Swift family provided music in the church for almost a century. Deborah Swift played the first elbow-working lap organ and she was followed by her brother, Ordello Swift, at the new organ in the gallery of the church.
The pipe organ was installed in 1913 and Margaret Swift and her cousin Arnold Swift served as organists.
Parish Formation & Modern Chapter (1958-Present)
In July 1958 the Conference combined the Cataumet and Bourne Churches under the title Bourne Methodist Parish.
Explore Further Resources
For more information, there is a rich history of the church in A History of Bourne Methodist Church, 1794–1959 written by Gladys H. Perry (Phinney) with the help of Lydia B. Brownson (Phinney).
There is additional information about the building, stained glass, and musical instruments in A Brief History of the Bourne United Methodist Church 1831–1993 by Gladys M. Burgess, Alan M. Kuzirian, and Rev. William E. Sissell, Jr.
Contact Us
Let Us Know How We Can Help You
bumcsecretary37@gmail.com
37 Sandwich Road
PO Box 3037
Bourne MA 02532
Secretary: Annie Fritschner
(508) 759-4898